My Yellow Suitcase

Redesign your life. Travel the world.

Experience the Best Optical Illusions at TRICKEYE MUSEUM Singapore

Trick Eye Museum is a concept recently popularized in Korea which became  a  hit tourist attraction in Seoul and Busan.  It then spread to other countries including  Hong Kong, China, and Singapore.  People went crazy over it.  In fact, it’s now all over the social media!  That’s why, when I came to visit Singapore for a short vacation, I made it a point to see for myself why people are going so ga-ga over it.

Trick-Eye-Museum-Singapore

What’s so unique about this museum is the clever display of various interactive optical illusions where the visitors themselves can become part of the amazing compositions.  It’s not like an ordinary museum where the prohibitive ‘Do Not Touch’ or ‘No Photography’ signs are all over the venue.  Trick Eye Museum breaks away from those rigid constraints and allows you to express your imaginative side and contribute to the wonderful spirit of spontaneity and free expression.  How awesome is that?

The basic principle behind the exhibited sculptures, paintings and photographs are to have them taken and presented in such a way as to achieve the maximum effect of the desired optical illusion.  The 2D or 3D images are silently inviting the viewer to participate and complete the composition while taking the commemorative snapshots.  The variety of possible inputs from the visitors is practically endless.  There’s also no limit to the number of photos you can take there.

For those who are little shy or less imaginative, the Trick Eye Museum even provided a suggested angle of snapshots and samples of poses you can take for the best results.  The helpful diagrams are located just beside each exhibit which you can mimic.  It certainly doesn’t matter how you do it as long as you have fun doing it.  And it’s really great fun for the young and the young at heart.   Needless to say, the Trick Eye Museum lets you unleash those creative poses and connect with the paintings!  I certainly did enjoy it!

trick-eye-museum-singapore-entrance

I visited the museum on a Friday to save myself from queuing.  When it was my turn to buy the ticket the lady asked me how many tickets.  I said one, she looked at me and stared with confusion.   “Ma’am this is an interactive museum, you need someone to take your picture.” Oh, well that make sense. But I already bought the ticket and I really wanted to see the optical illusions.  Not to mention the effort and money I spent to get here would be wasted.  So I pleaded … and it worked! Amazingly, one of the crew volunteered to help me. Guess luck was on my side eh! Woo hooo!

I was astonished the moment I stepped inside the room.  It is filled with amazing sculptures strategically positioned for everyone to explore. I wandered around for a moment, looking for the right mural to have my first photo op.  And  as I walked towards the “giant baby”, I’ve noticed a group of teenagers happily taking pictures and making fun of each other.  Youngsters from another group were competing against each other to see who made the best pose!   Competitive souls!

After a few minutes, I found a free spot and strike a pose right away. The lady crew was genuinely helpful, she even suggested some techniques  on how to pose as I tried to awkwardly do mine hehe 🙂 .  There were about a hundred of exhibits inside  divided into six zones: World of Masterpieces, Safari Kingdom, Star of Circus, Dreams of Fairy Tale, Love in Winter, and Adventure Discovery. I was somewhat overwhelmed by the numerous illusions that seemed to be bombarding my senses every time we stepped into a new zone. Good the lady I’m with was never in a hurry.  She was great with being flexible and she always made sure  I had a good photo. Isn’t that amazing?

Here are some photos from my visit that truly wowed me, and I hope it will do the same for you too.

mermaid

Just transformed into a mermaid…

angel

Be like an angel…

giant baby

Save me from this giant baby!

fish

This optical illusion shows that color can be a tricky concept. Oh no, don’t eat me…

boots

I look so small with this really huge giant yellow boots!

paint can

Be careful with that paint!

elephant

Boy, this elephant is super strong!

merlion

The Merlion boat is specially designed for Trick Eye Museum Singapore.

All the optical illusions were pretty amusing.   While it’s fun to look at, they also reveal a great deal about how the brain interprets what the eyes perceive.  Sometimes our eyes have a habit of deceiving us – creating a perception that differs from reality and does not match the true image. That’s how our eyes can get tricked!

Overall I had a blast! I’m sure you will too. So book now and experience the fun that Trick Eye Museum Singapore has to offer! Don’t forget to tag your family or your friends with you. It’s worth it!

TRAVELLER’s NOTE:

How to get there:

Address: Resorts World Sentosa, 26 Sentosa Gateway
*Located near to Universal Studios and Malaysian Food Street.

  • By bus:
    Bus number 65, 80, 93, 188, 855, 10, 30, 97, 100, 131, 143, 145 or 166 and head towards Vivo City.
  • By MRT:
    Take the MRT to the Harbour Front – Vivo City and take the E exit and go to the 3rd floor to continue your journey with Sentosa Express. When you get there walk by heading towards Sentosa Boardwalk

Admission Fee:

You can book the ticket online here:   https://bookingtrickeye.com/index.php/en/ or walk-in and buy directly at the ticket station located in front of the museum.

  • S$25 for adult and
  • S$20 for children (age 2-12) and senior (60 and above)

 Opening Hours:

  • Mondays to Sundays
  • From 10 AM – 9 PM (Last admission is at 8 PM)

Useful site:

For more info, visit their website at http://www.trickeye.com/singapore

What do you think? Share your thoughts by commenting below!

Happy travels everyone!

29 comments on “Experience the Best Optical Illusions at TRICKEYE MUSEUM Singapore

  1. Adelina // PackMeTo
    November 19, 2015

    I’ve always wanted to go a trick eye museum! They look so cool! Great set of photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 20, 2015

      You should go and try. You will definitely enjoy it 🙂

      Like

  2. Laura Lynch
    November 25, 2015

    What a fun place to explore! We went to a similar place – Camera Obscura – in Edinburgh, where you can play and be part of the interactive displays. It was a lot of fun. I can see this place being even better because yo have so many great photos to take home with you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 25, 2015

      Hi Laura! It’s like throwing yourself into an imaginative battlefield heheh… where the paintings come to life right before your very eyes! Such an incredible experience 🙂

      Like

  3. Sue @NoFixedAbodeForSue
    November 25, 2015

    What a fun place to visit, I think I saw this featured on some tv show recently. Your post is great and I love the detailed information at the end of the post as that really helps when planning a visit.

    Like

    • Ynah CA
      November 25, 2015

      Yes Sue, its fun being part of the mural! Hehhe…. But really, its great for family and friends bonding.

      Like

  4. Marjorie
    November 26, 2015

    I love trick-eye museums! Or in the Philippines, 3D museums. It’s fun to be part of the art, so to speak.I remember having a blast when I went to the 3D museum in Boracay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 27, 2015

      Hi Marjorie, oh wow I didn’t know that theres one in Boracay! I’ve heard about alive museum in Quezon City – same concept 🙂

      Like

  5. Karla (Karla Around The World)
    November 26, 2015

    Hahaha! I love the elephant picture. Kids and Kids at heart would really love this place!

    Like

    • Ynah CA
      November 27, 2015

      Oh thank you Karla, the place ia definitely for everyone! That is, as long as you are not shy to strike a pose 😉

      Like

  6. Richard Collett
    November 26, 2015

    I don;t think I could handle all the illusions and madness this museum has to offer!

    Like

    • Ynah CA
      November 26, 2015

      Hi Ricahrd, it’s totally out of this world… LOL!

      Like

  7. The Roaming Renegades.com
    November 26, 2015

    Ha ha, this is cool! I love how you can really get involved in the exhibitions, we visited a place kind of similar in Edinburgh where it was all about illusions and tricks of the eye, very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 28, 2015

      Oh yeah! Amazing how our eyes can be deceived like that and create a magical image!

      Like

  8. This is my first exposure to Trickeys museum. ITS SO AWESOME. Loved all your pictures. Wish we soon have one in India.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 28, 2015

      Hi Himanshu! Yeah I hope there will be one in India, I am pretty sure it is going to be a hit 🙂

      Like

  9. Claudia
    November 27, 2015

    Buahahahahahaha that is a HILARIOUS museum. I love the picture of you in a cage. Good thing that you had someone helping you take pictures. They are really funny 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 28, 2015

      Hi Claudia! Its a fun fun fun day 🙂

      Like

  10. Jessica
    November 28, 2015

    Funny place but indeed perfect for trick eye photo portfolio. Maybe quite similar to that 3D Museum in Cubao, Manila.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Svet Dimitrov
    November 28, 2015

    Hehe, such a creative idea! I would love to have a photo there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 28, 2015

      Clever isn’t Svet? Hope you could try some day 🙂 its a fun filled activity!

      Like

  12. Alexandrea
    November 30, 2015

    This looks like lots of fun and it was lovely of the staff to take pictures for you. It would have been annoying to have gone all the way there and not have been able to get any pictures

    Like

  13. Girl, Unspotted
    November 30, 2015

    I haven’t tried these optical museums but they look fun! Don’t they have one in Manila too?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ynah CA
      November 30, 2015

      Yeah, I think its called Alive Museum. Haven’t been there though 😉

      Like

  14. Melody Pittman
    November 30, 2015

    That looks like so much fun. I would gladly be cheesing it up in there. 😉 I’ve seen a couple posts recently about museums like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jon @ jonistravelling.com
    December 2, 2015

    I went to somewhere similar in Singpaore – fun place to take photos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2015 by in Singapore, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
